You are here

District of Montana Profile

Congress organized Montana as one judicial district in 1889.  It is the largest geographical federal court district in the continential United States.  The district is made up of five geographical divisions and is served by three Article III judges, three senior judges, three magistrate judges, two recalled magistrate judges, one bankruptcy judge and 130 employees who work in the district court, bankruptcy court and United States Probation Office.